Like many states, Michigan has passed teen driving laws that are meant to ease teens into the big responsibility of being able to drive a car.

In recent years, many states across the country have started to pass what are known as graduated licensing for teens. They begin with a temporary driving permit that has various restrictions. Then, they are able to learn how to drive safely on the road before they are given full driving privileges that adults in Michigan enjoy.

As a result of the graduated licensing requirements, teen fatalities in motor vehicle accidents have dropped significantly. This is proof that the system is working.  

It’s very important for all Michigan teens and their parents to understand the teen driving laws in the state. Not only will it help teens follow the law, it’ll also help them graduate to their full license quicker than if they didn’t follow the rules.

Here’s a breakdown of the teen driving laws in Michigan, and the various graduated licensing levels explained.

Level 1

Teens as young as 14 years old and 9 months can qualify for a Level 1 status for their graduated license.

Before they can qualify, they must complete one segment of a driver education course, receive approval from their parent or guardian, and also meet health and vision standards set by the state.

Once a teenager receives this Level 1 license, they can drive as long as they are accompanied by an adult who is 21 years or older and has a valid driver’s license.

The Level 1 graduated license is in effect for at least six months from the time a teenager receives it.

Level 2

After meeting certain requirements, teens can graduate to a Level 2 license. The requirements for moving from Level 1 to Level 2 include:

  • Having their Level 1 license for at least six months
  • Completing the second segment of a driver education course
  • Completing what’s known as the necessary “behind the wheel experience”
  • Completing a skills test for driving
  • Not had any tickets while on their Level 1 license

When teens get their Level 2 graduated license, they will have to abide by certain restrictions. They can’t have more than one passenger in the car who is under 21 years of age.

They also are subject to a curfew. Teen drivers with a Level 2 graduated license can’t drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. There are some exceptions to this curfew, though.

Teens can drive during these hours if they are with a parent, legal guardian or other driver who is at least 21 years old, are driving for work, or driving from or to an “authorized activity.”

The state of Michigan publishes a full list for parents of these exceptions to the Level 2 graduated license curfew. Some of the “authorized activities” include driving to or from:

  • Activities or sporting events not related to school but part of an official extracurricular club, association or league
  • Events that a religious organization sponsors, as long as the organization has federal tax-exempt status
  • Programs or classes offered through a nonprofit organization, government unit, business, community college, or other college
  • Events that are sanctioned by their school — whether it’s a private school, public school or home school
  • Driving for the purpose of transporting someone who needs emergency medical care immediately
  • Driving a person who needs immediate personal protection to a police station, hospital, health-care professional, public safety location, or shelter for domestic violence

Level 3

Once a teen reaches 17 years of age, they can qualify for a Level 3 graduated license. In addition to being 17, they need to have their Level 2 graduated license for at least 12 months and not have any traffic violations during that time.

Teen drivers who have a Level 3 license don’t have any restrictions on their driving. 

Teen Adults

Michigan’s system of graduated driver’s licensing does not apply to teens who reach adult status. Once teens turn 18 years old, they don’t have to abide by the graduated licensing system.

That being said, there are still some requirements that 18-year-olds and 19-year-olds must abide by if they are getting their Michigan driver’s license for the first time.

The state won’t issue original driver’s licenses to adult teens before they are first issued a temporary instruction permit. In addition, they have to pass a driving skills examination, a driver’s knowledge test as well as a test on road signs.

Once these teens meet these requirements, they will be able to receive their Michigan driver’s license without any restrictions.

Signature Insurance Helps Protect Teen Drivers

Our teen drivers are precious in Michigan. The state passed its graduated driver’s license system for teen drivers to help protect them from the dangers of the road, and the statistics have shown that it’s worked.

Driving a car is a huge privilege, and it comes with a lot of responsibility. This is why it’s very important that teens and their parents know Michigan’s teen driving laws and follow them to a T. In the end, it will ensure that teens get the time they need behind the wheel to learn how to drive safely.

At Signature Insurance, we have been helping parents get their teen drivers protected by providing the best auto insurance for teen drivers. We work with parents and teen drivers to get them the best auto insurance products for their needs.

We care about all drivers in Michigan, and have a particular focus to protecting the future leaders of our society.

Contact Signature Insurance today to find out how we can help protect your teens behind the wheel.

Get insurance today!

At Signature Insurance we want to help you understand your insurance coverage options so you make the best decision.

Contact us at (586) 274-9600 and we’ll be happy to get quote for you from many of the top auto insurance companies or home insurance companies in Metro Detroit.